Silent Night

Silent Night – 19th December 2022 – Results

PositionGender positionAge cat positionNameClubTimeCategory
111Chris AlboroughDurham Fell Runners39:38MSEN
222John WoodhouseDurham Fell Runners42:15MSEN
333Joe StringerNorthumberland Fell Runners42:36MSEN
444William BowersOchil Hill Runners43:13MSEN
555Andrew ArminSaltwell Harriers43:52MSEN
666Martin WilsonDurham Fell Runners46:55MSEN
771Matt WalkerDurham Fell Runners47:00M40
887Max WilkinsonDurham Fell Runners47:34MSEN
992Mark DavinsonDerwentside AC50:26M40
10108Harry Madgwick LawtonCroydon Striders50:27MSEN
11113Adam MalloyNorthumberland Fell Runners53:22M40
12124Graham Lewis-DaleNorth Shields Polytechnic Club53:54M40
13135Paul HodgsonDurham Fell Runners54:15M40
14146Andrew StimsonDurham Fell Runners54:28M40
15157Ian HutchinsonDerwentside AC55:17M40
16168Adam BridgesDurham Fell Runners57:02M40
1711Helen HeaneyNorth Shields Polytechnic Club59:30W40
18179Jonathan HeaneyNorth Shields Polytechnic Club59:31M40
19189Joe WinstanleyNorth Shields Polytechnic Club1:01:07MSEN
201910Ed Walker1:03:47MSEN
21201Pat McIverHowgill Harriers1:07:24M50
2222Alison GouldingDerwentside AC1:08:22W40
23211Andrew CharlesDurham Fell Runners1:25:14M70

2022 Race Report

Congratulations to the winners, Helen Heaney – who becomes the record holder and our first ever female finisher, and Chris Alborough who ran a frankly astonishing time of 39:38, just 12 seconds outside his course record time of 2021 in conditions which were very windy. Matt Walker who was first M40 home, Pat McIvor who was first M50 and Andrew Charles who sets the record for the M70 category with his time of 1:25:14.

Conditions were very windy, and with a head wind on the ascent it was slow going, the bogs were mostly frozen hard with lots of water running over them, there were several very slippery patches of ice on the tracks which thankfully everyone negotiated without serious injury.

Many thanks to all the marshals who helped out and everyone who entered for making this unique event possible.